General Site Information
Site ID:US-UMB
Site Name:Univ. of Mich. Biological Station
Tower Team: PI: Christopher Gough <cmgough@vcu.edu> - Virginia Commonwealth University
PI: Gil Bohrer <bohrer.17@osu.edu> - Ohio State University
PI: Peter Curtis <curtis.7@osu.edu> - Ohio State University
DataManager: Callie Kleinke <kleinke.9@buckeyemail.osu.edu> - Ohio State University
DataManager: Justine Missik <missik.2@osu.edu> - Ohio State University
DataManager: Yang Ju <ju.116@buckeyemail.osu.edu> - Ohio State University
Affiliate: Chris Vogel <csvogel@umich.edu> - University of Michigan
Latitude:45.5598
Longitude:-84.7138
Elevation (m):234
NetworkAmeriFlux, Phenocam
IGBP:DBF (Deciduous Broadleaf Forests: Lands dominated by woody vegetation with a percent cover >60% and height exceeding 2 meters. Consists of broadleaf tree communities with an annual cycle of leaf-on and leaf-off periods.)
Mean Annual Temperature (degrees C):5.83
Mean Annual Precipitation (mm):803
Data Products: FLUXNET2015 Dataset
FLUXNET LaThuile Dataset
Data Availability: FLUXNET2015:   15 years (Duration: 2000 - 2014)
FLUXNET LaThuile:   5 years (Duration: 1999 - 2003)
Data Downloads to Date: FLUXNET2015:   2578 unique downloads
FLUXNET LaThuile:   265 unique downloads
Data DOIs: FLUXNET2015 DOI: 10.18140/FLX/1440093
Description:The UMBS site is located within a protected forest owned by the University of Michigan. Arboreal composition of the forest consists of mid-aged northern hardwoods, conifer understory, aspen, and old growth hemlock. Logging of local white pines began in 1879. In successive years, several other species were harvested. Logging was discontinued in 1980 when the land became protected under the private ownership of the University of Michigan. Patchy low- to high-intensity wildfires occurred yearly from 1880 - 1920, essentially burning the entire region.
Site image(s):

These pages show the current information available at https://fluxnet.org about this tower.
If any of this information is wrong or missing, please submit corrections and updates via https://fluxnet.org